Fake Telegram Apps are Bad News

Fake Telegram apps have been found, be careful what you download.

Telegram has become quite the popular chat app. Of course when things become popular, malicious actors see a way to take advantage of users. Now these cyber crooks are targeting Telegram’s users with two different apps.

The first app was found by Symantec on the Google Play Store. Fortunately, this app wasn’t really malware, as much as an annoyance. The app was poorly disguised with the name of Teligram. The creators obviously hoped Telegram users could not spell. The description of the app labeled it “New version updated”. I suppose the creators also hoped that users weren’t that bright. The app didn’t serve malicious attacks, as much as just serve ads to the users. While users weren’t in any danger, the app was still falsifying what it was, and the app has been removed from the Google Play Store.

The other fake app is more bothersome. This app was written using Telegram’s own code, which is open source, which must be very inviting to malware creators. Published to third party app stores using the same package name, users would have no real way of knowing that this was a fake app. Once installed, the app could add a backdoor to the user’s phone.

Usually, we advise users to be sure of the app which you’re installing. With this second app, there would really be no way of knowing that you downloaded the wrong app until it was too late. Luckily, this app has not been available on the Google Play Store.

source: Engadget

Brad

BlackBerry Elite Founder & Owner of UTB Blogs and UTB Geek. When I'm not talking or writing about BlackBerry, you'll find me using my BlackBerry.

  • MePiikan LzBolaz

    Telegram is a really good app and it’s cross platform capabilities are what BBM should have evolved into. With this there is a lot of scamming going on as well and not just with the app itself but with channels as well.

    It does have a few things that won’t take me away completely from BBM though. The fact that you can be pulled into groups without accepting is not cool. Even though you can manually disable this in settings it should turned off by default. Another thing I don’t like is that every one of your contacts can see you have the app just like whatsapp. You are also notified if a contact installs it, not much privacy there.

Top